Rules, Management and Governance

On this page:

Here's how HACSU is governed

Here's how HACSU is governed

HACSU Tasmania is overseen by a Committee of Management, who are HACSU Members elected by the union membership every four years.

The HACSU Committee of Management is the body responsible overall for the management and control of the affairs of the union. The roles and function of the management committee are determined by the rules of the union.

All members of the management committee are elected by the HACSU membership every four years. It consists of seven union officers and eight ordinary members of the Branch Committee.

The seven officers of the union on the management committee are the President, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Senior Vice-President, Junior Vice-President and two Trustees.

The Committee of Management meets at least five times a year.

From time to time it establishes sub-committees around specific projects or issues.

HACSU members on the Executive Committee of the management committee meet every month to examine in detail the financial accounts of the union and to scrutinise every item of expenditure made during the month to ensure members’ funds are spent in members’ best interests. The Executive Committee consists of members like you, who work in the industry and who are committed to ensuring HACSU remains a well-run and accountable union.

The overall management committee also scrutinises, reviews and approves expenditure.

4 Oct 2022: HACSU members can view the HSU post-election report E2022/34 here

Committee of Management

Our Committee of Management for the 2022-2026 term:

Robbie Moore:
State Secretary, HACSU

Lucas Digney: Assistant Secretary, HACSU

Judy Richmond: President, Mersey Community Hospital

Chris Webb: Senior Vice-President, HACSU Holiday Home Officer

Leigh Gorringe: Trustee, Oral Health Services

Christine Hansson: Junior Vice-President, Hobart Private Hospital

Peter Moore: Trustee, Disability Services North West

Andrew Challis: Member, North West Private Hospital

Marlene McHenry: Member, Beaconsfield District Health

Melissa Bibe: Member, Launceston General Hospital

Carolyn Shearer: Member, Oak Possability Tasmania

Dave Thomas: Member, Ambulance Tasmania North

Kristy Youd: Member, Masonic Care Launceston

Tanya Clifford: Member, Royal Hobart Hospital

Nina Manning: Member, Alcohol and Drug Services

Click here to see our 2022 election notice / call for nominations

Financial statements

You can download the HACSU 2022-2023 Financial Statements here.

You can download the HACSU 2022-2023 Officer and Related Party Disclosure Statement here.


HACSU is a Union affiliate of Unions Tasmania. Unions Tasmania is the peak body for the union movement in Tasmania, representing over fifty thousand members of affiliate unions.

Rules and policies

HACSU is governed by a set of national rules that are registered with Fair Work Commission and can only be changed by the National Council of the HSU.

HACSU is governed by a set of national rules for the Health Services Union. These rules apply to all branches of the union in Australia. The rules are registered with Fair Work Commission and can only be changed by the National Council of the union. The rules cover matters such as defining areas of membership coverage, responsibilities of office bearers, and the objectives of the union. The role and function of various union bodies such as National Council, National Executive and Branch Committee of Management are also spelled out in the rules. The rules also determine how and when elections are held for all the officers and officials of the union. 

You can read our rules on the Fair Work Commission website.


Financial Management

Membership Dues Refund

Document Management

Cashing out Long Service Leave

Receiving Gifts

Travel Policy